V.I.P. (Volunteers In Parks) Banquet

For ten years now, the Cherokee Recreation & Parks Agency has enjoyed the pleasure of honoring and recognizing Cherokee County’s volunteers who dedicate their time and services to youth sports, individuals with special needs, Cherokee County parks & trails and more! At the V.I.P. Banquet volunteers and their guests enjoy a reception, dinner and ceremony including recognition of Outstanding Volunteers from each organization and the Distinguished Volunteer of the Year, words from a special speaker and gifts and door prizes.

On January 19, 2017 CRPA hosted our 10th Annual V.I.P. Banquet at The Northside Hospital Cherokee Conference Center. A special thanks to the Honorable Judge Frank Mills, Retired for his inspiring words as our keynote speaker.

For his outstanding level of volunteerism, selflessness, and dedication to the leisure interests of Cherokee County, Ray DeLuca with the Cherokee Senior Softball Association was named the CRPA Distinguished Volunteer of the Year. Congratulations to Ray and all of our award recipients, and thank you to each of the volunteers for everything you do to make our community a better place to live, work, and play!

The following outstanding volunteers were also recognized for contributions to their organizations:

  • Canton Baseball – Brittany Blackmon
  • CCAC Pelicans – Jennifer Ibarra
  • Cherokee County Aquatic Center SPLASH Program – Megan Bailey
  • Cherokee Reds – Jeff Myers
  • Cherokee County Special Olympics – Rick Raessler
  • Cherokee Hockey Inline League – Jim McDonald
  • Cherokee Senior Softball Association – Ray DeLuca
  • Cherokee Soccer Association – Lieutenant Daniel Higgins
  • Cherokee Summer Swim Association – Kristen Reeg & Jenny Hartman
  • Cherokee YMCA – Ken Galindo & Nick Schuster
  • Cherokee Youth Basketball – Michael Holbrook
  • Cherokee Youth Football Association – Blair Sailor
  • Cherokee Youth Lacrosse – Adam Easterbrook
  • Cherokee Youth Softball – Doug Garrett
  • East Cherokee Baseball – Corey and Brei Elario
  • Friends of Garland Mountain – Nancy Foy
  • Georgia Academy Power Softball Club – Shelley Squillace
  • Hobgood Youth Baseball – Scott Schug
  • Junior Grizzlies Baseball – Matt Pridemore
  • Leisure Spectrum – Laura Guglielmo
  • North Cherokee Baseball – Brandon Parton
  • North Georgia Falcons – Morris Fox
  • Northwest Georgia Swim League – Connie Walker
  • SORBA Woodstock – Bob Liggett